Public 17.01.2024

Follow-the-Money

Closed case reviews in financial investigations of illegal wildlife trade

At the first Follow-the-Money Working Group meeting for 2024, Mark Williams of the Royal United Services Institute (RUSI) will present a new report on the "closed case method" – multi-agency financial investigations of closed illegal wildlife trade cases.

This method focuses on the unexplored financial elements of historical cases. It involves "following-the-money" to identify typologies and risk indicators of financial crimes linked to illegal wildlife trade, as well as potential new leads.

The meeting will be held on Zoom in English with simultaneous interpretation in Spanish and French. It is open to current members of the Countering Environmental Corruption Practitioners Forum and its Follow-the-Money Working Group, as well as those potentially interested in joining.

  • Time: 08:00 ET, 14:00 CET, 21:00 SGT
  • Register